LYTRO ILLUM

Playback Mode

To enter Playback Mode from Capture Mode, tap the Playback Mode icon at the top of the Menu Bar, press the Fn button, or swipe the screen from left to right. The last Living Picture taken will be displayed, a new set of icons will appear in the Menu Bar at the right edge of the screen, and the contents of the Information Bar will also change. To view an older picture, simply swipe the screen from left to right. To go back to the first picture displayed, swipe from right to left.

To return to Capture Mode, tap the Capture Mode icon at the top of the Menu Bar, press the Fn button, or swipe the screen from right to left when the most recent picture is displayed. Press shutter button halfway to return to Capture Mode.

Touchscreen layout in Playback Mode

  1. ISO
  2. Shutter speed
  3. White balance
  4. Focal length (35mm eq.)
  5. Picture number / total pictures
  6. Battery charge
  7. Capture Mode
  8. Grid view
  9. Exposure histogram
  10. Delete
  11. Settings

Information Bar

Menu Bar

Depth Assist Bar

Processing a Living Picture for refocusing

A Living Picture can be refocused by simply tapping the screen, but the camera has to process the picture first. The first time a picture is viewed, it will automatically be processed for refocusing.

A small progress window will appear over the center of the picture during processing. When the progress window disappears — usually in just a second or two — the picture is ready to be refocused by tapping the screen.

Indicator of a Living Picture being processed

Refocusing a Living Picture

Once a picture has been processed, refocus it by just tapping the screen. The camera will re-center the focus as closely as possible to the spot tapped. Depending on the composition of the picture, some areas may fall outside the refocusable range — essentially the maximum range in which the picture can be refocused sharply.

Refocus a Living Picture by tapping the touchscreen.

As the focus of the picture changes, the depth value for that focus is displayed in the Depth Assist Bar as a white line.

Using grid view

To sort through the Living Pictures on the SD card more quickly, select grid view. Tap the Grid View icon in the Menu Bar at the right-hand edge of the screen. The icon will illuminate, and a thumbnail grid of 9 pictures will replace the single-picture view.

Tap the Grid View icon to display 9 pictures at a time.

Swipe the screen from top to bottom to view older pictures, or from bottom to top to view newer ones. At any time, swiping from right to left will the return the camera to Capture Mode. Tap the thumbnail to select one or more pictures. If any of the thumbnails are double-tapped, the picture will expand to fill the screen, closing Grid View.

Using the review exposure histogram

To view an exposure histogram for each picture as it is displayed, tap the histogram icon in the Menu Bar. The icon will illuminate and the histogram will appear in the lower left-hand corner of the screen. To close the histogram, tap the icon again.

Deleting a picture

To delete the picture currently displayed, tap the Delete icon in the Menu Bar at the right-hand edge of the screen. A window will open with two options: OK or CANCEL. Tap OK to delete the picture.

Deleting one or more pictures in Grid View

To delete one or more pictures in grid view, first tap on the thumbnails to select the pictures. Delete the pictures by tapping the Delete icon in the Menu Bar at the right-hand edge of the screen. A window will open with two options: OK or CANCEL. Tap OK to delete the picture.

Opening the Settings menu

You can open the Settings menu by tapping the Settings icon in the Menu Bar. The Settings menu will display, closing Playback Mode. For details on each of the available Settings, see the Settings section.

To close the Settings menu, tap CAPTURE at the top left of the screen, or press the shutter button halfway. The camera will always return to Capture Mode when exiting Settings. To get back to Playback Mode, tap the Playback Mode icon in the Menu Bar again, press the Fn button, or swipe the screen from left to right.